Frank Gaffney Honored with United in Purpose Impact Award

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Frank Gaffney receives United in Purpose Impact Award


Watch the whole event



For Immediate Release
December 7, 2017


Deborah Hamilton, Hamilton Strategies, [email protected], 610.584.1096, ext. 102, or Dillon Burroughs, 610.584.1096, ext. 108

National Security Expert Frank Gaffney Honored with United in Purpose Impact Award

Award Honors Conservatives Who Go Above and Beyond in Defense of Liberty

Washington, D.C.—United in Purpose, a non-profit organization whose mission is to unite and equip conservatives in the promotion of Judeo-Christian principles, yesterday hosted the organization’s inaugural Impact Awards, honoring 12 conservative leaders who are making a transformational impact on American culture.

Among them was Center for Security Policy President and CEO Frank Gaffney, who has led the not-for-profit, non-partisan educational corporation since 1988. Under President Ronald Reagan, Gaffney acted as the Assistant Secretary of Defense for International Security Policy. He served as chairman of the High Level Group (NATO’s senior politico-military committee) and as the Deputy Assistant Secretary of defense for Nuclear Forces and Arms Control Policy under Assistant Secretary Richard Perle. He was also a Professional Staff Member on the Senate Armed Services Committee.

“United in Purpose is so honored to support Ginni Thomas’s visionary idea to launch the Impact Awards, and we see this becoming an annual tradition to honor the great patriots of our country,” said Bill Dallas, CEO of United in Purpose.

The Impact Awards Committee was comprised of 19 members and considered eight criteria to determine award recipients ranging from an ability to demonstrate outstanding excellence and broad impact, to tenacity, courage and perseverance while under attack.

Other recipients included Sean Hannity (Outstanding Impact Award); Dr. Larry Arnn, president of Hillsdale College; Dan Bongino, former NYPD Detective, U.S. Secret Service; Thomas Fitton, president of Judicial Watch; Charlie Kirk, CEO of Turning Point USA; Richard Manning, president of Americans for Limited Government; James O’Keefe, founder and president of Project Veritas; Chris Plante, host of the “Chris Plante Show” on WMAL in Washington; Star Parker, president of Center for Urban Renewal; Leonard Leo, executive vice president of The Federalist Society for Law and Public Policy; and Richard Viguerie, chairman of American Target Advertising, who received the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Hannity was the keynote speaker delivering an unabashedly conservative, Hannity-esque speech that was well received by the crowd and earned thunderous applause numerous times. “The fight is greater than ever for truth, and perseverance is necessary in the battle against fake news and the determination to get to the truth. Under President Trump the forgotten man is forgotten no more, and we the people are going to work harder than ever to get the government back into the hands of American citizens; where it belongs,” Hannity said.

In presenting the awards, Thomas, CEO of Liberty Consulting, did not mince words in describing the importance and unique nature of the Impact Awards and the recipients. “America’s liberties are at great risk and institutions and values that have stood the test of time are under attack,” she said. “Some refuse to fight when it gets as hard as it is—they make peace with the hope that no one swarms them, or threatens them. The leaders we lift up today to be honored for the Impact Awards are the bravest, most effective, most dedicated, determined warriors defending the values that are the real strength of America. They have shown moral courage in the face of desperate times.”

The event was held at the Trump International Hotel in Washington, D.C. For more information on the background and accomplishments of each winner, visit

View the media page for the Center here or the Center for Security Policy website for more information.


To interview Frank Gaffney from the Center for Security Policy, contact Deborah Hamilton, [email protected], 610-584-1096, ext. 102, or Dillon Burroughs, 610-584-1096, ext. 108.



Center for Security Policy

Please Share: