2014: Reps. Bachmann and Wolf honored with Keeper of the Flame award at elegant rooftop reception

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Keeper of the Flame Award was inaugurated in 1990 by the Center for Security Policy to bestow recognition on those individuals who devote their public careers to the propagation of democracy and the respect for individual rights throughout the world. The Award both acknowledges the past contributions of its recipients and reminds others who share their commitment to freedom of the work yet to be done.

This year the Center for Security Policy selected two outstanding individuals who are soon retiring from congress, and have contributed incalculably to our nation’s security. They join the distinguished ranks of past awardees who include: General Peter Pace, Ronald Reagan, Donald Rumsfeld, James Schlesinger, Caspar Weinberger, General Richard Myers, Sen. Jim Inhofe, Sen. John Kyl and Paul Wolfowitz.

The Hon. Hal Rogers of Kentucky’s 5th congressional district, Chairman of the powerful House Appropriations Committee, introduced the evening’s first honoree:

Congressman Frank Wolf of the 10th District of Virginia accepted the Keeper of the Flame award for his devotion to promoting U.S. national security during his 17 terms in congress:

The Hon. Louie Gohmert, a 5th term representative from the 1st district of Texas, and stalwart defender of U.S. interests against Islamist and other threats foreign and domestic, introduced the 2nd honoree Michele Bachmann:

Hon. Michele Bachmann of Minnesota, retiring after 8 years in congress, received the Keeper of the Flame award for her unapologetic push for accountability on national security matters, especially regarding Muslim Brotherhood penetration of vital government agencies:

Center for Security Policy

Please Share: